Visit the Alitagtag, Batangas page for all information on Alitagtag.
What you are about to read is the History of Alitagtag, Batangas.
Alitagtag came from the word “Alinagnag”, which in the dialect, means “a small distinct light.” Many years afo, Alitagtag, a barrio of Bauan (Lumang Bauang) was covered with big trees and thick vegetation. Among the hard trees commonly found were the anubing, molave and kakawati. The place was dotted with few houses, the road was narrow and muddy. Tales of road robberies were inhabiting the place. It was told that a religious woman one day in April saw a light in one of the anubing trees. The light which remained in the tree for several days sometimes disappear. It was a miraculous light. Since then, the place was called Alinagnag, having originated from the small light. Later it was changed to Alitagtag.
In the year 1908, moves to separate from Bauan thru meetings, conducting census, passing resolutions and preparations of other necessary documents started. Through the most difficult experience of maximum action and efforts of the town leaders and prominent man viz: Messrs. Raymundo Bautista, Jose Maranan, Zacarias Maralit, Fulgencio Ylagan, Adriano Caraos, Adriano Guttierez, Fausto Marquez, Bernardo Macalintal, Antero Castillo, Tomas Jasa, Maximo Castillo, Modesto Quitain and others, a petition was filed on the 22nd day of January 1909 with the Philippine Civil Commission headed that time by Executive Secretary Carpinter. Supported by then Provincial Governor, Hon. Galiciano Apacible, thru whom the letter of reconsideration was sent to the Commission, Alitagtag became a municipality on the 1st day of January 1910 by virtue of an executive order passed on the 7th day of May, 1909. Hon. Jose Maranan became the first town president with Hon. Adriano Guttierez as the Vice President. It was on July 11, 1909 when the seat of the Local Goevernment Unit, the Municipal Hall was finally constructed.
Last Updated: October 8, 2013