Breaking News

Voices, Songs and Rhythms: A Star-Studded Finals Night

Text: Steph Dote
Photos: Prince Hinayon, Leomark Aday, Steph Dote

One of the many events that Batanguenos looked forward to in the Ala Eh! Festival 2013 was the Voices, Songs and Rhythms: Timpalak Awitan sa Kapitolyo (VSR) wherein locals showcase their talent in singing.

The contest has been ongoing on its third year, province-wide. It has two divisions for everyone to participate in: the Junior Division and Adult (Main) Division.

This year, the VSR finals night was held at the Batangas Sports Coliseum, December 7. The long wait for the VSR was worth it. Invited celebrities to judge the said competition were Jose Mari Chan, Tirso Cruz III, Marian Rivera, Jed Madela, Yayo Aguila, Elmo Magalona, Dolly Ann Carvajal, Marcelito Pomoy, Radha, Myk Perez, Janice Javier and Jessa Zaragoza.

Meanwhile, Gabby Concepcion, Roderick Paulate, Amy Perez, and Maja Salvador hosted the event.

Batanguenos filled the venue as everyone prepared themselves for the event. The crowd began to cheer as Governor Vilma Santos, other provincial government officials, and judge and guest celebrities arrived. Governor Vi officially started the event with her opening remarks.

Intermission numbers were rendered by Human Touch Dancers, D’ Intensity Breakers, Pinoy Hiphop and also the pride of Tanauan City, Batangas and Pinoy Got Talent finalist, El Gamma Penumbra.

As everyone awaited for the announcement of the winners, the Voice of the Philippines finalists, Myk Perez, Rhada and Janice Javier, entertained the audience with their exceptional performances and Jed Madela wowed the crowd in what seemed like a mini-concert.

Here are the winners and the finalists of VSR 2013 for both divisions.

Junior Division

Keon Patrick Carlos Driz – Batangas City (Grand Champion)
Lucas Nico Garcia – Lipa City (1st Runner Up)
Maria Christina Dolor – San Juan (2nd Runner up)
Alliña Angela Malaiba – Sto. Tomas
Beverly Punzalan – Batangas City
Bianca Luiz Zuñiga – Padre Garcia
Vittorio Opeña – Tanauan

Main Division

Joel Alcaraz – Talisay (Grand Champion)
Moon-A-Mel Dogtong – San Luis (1st Runner Up)
Milky Sheena Villaester – Nasugbu (2nd Runner up)
Mark Rojel Sasutona – Malvar
Allysa Mae Sua – Taysan
Heidi Magpantay – Cuenca
Mary Rose Maximo – Bauan

About Publisher

JR Cantos is the Publisher of Some of the articles here on the website have been contributed over the years, so please just email us at help (at) if you have any concerns. Salamat!

Check Also

Pukot: Kultura ng Bayanihan sa Bayan ng Agoncillo

Ang pamumukot ay isa sa mga paraan ng pangingisda kung saan gumagamit ng lambat sa …

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.