Breaking News

United Calabarzon Collegiate League opened it’s 10th season

United Calabarzon Collegiate League Opens Tenth Season2
A total of 23 schools are competing in the on-going Season 10 of the United Calabarzon Collegiate League (UCCL).This year’s sports competition, which opened on July 16, 2016 with Coach Joel Banal as special guest, will once again see the athletic feats of college and university junior and senior teams from among the schools in Cavite, Batangas, Laguna, and Quezon.The team that will rule the tournament will represent Southern Luzon and Bicol region in the elite Sweet 16 round of the Philippine Collegiate Champions League (PCCL).

The participating schools are First Asia Institute of Technology and Humanities, De La Salle-Lipa, San Pablo Colleges, University of Perpetual Help Calamba, Emilio Aguinaldo College-Cavite, Olivarez College, Asia Technological College, Calayan Educational Foundation Inc., De La Salle University-Dasma, Don Bosco Global College, Holy Trinity School-Mataas na Kahoy, Holy Trinity School-Padre Garcia, International School for Better Beginnings, Laguna College of Business and Arts, Lyceum of the Philippines University-Laguna, Malayan Colleges Laguna, Maryhill College, Philippine Christian University-Dasma, St. Jude College-Dasma, Stonyhurst SouthVille International School-Lipa, Stonyhurst SouthVille International School-Batangas, University of Batangas, and University of Batangas-Lipa.

According to UCCL tournament director, Lito Arim, the teams will see action in at least three major events: basketball, volleyball, and football.

Majority of the games will be played on Saturdays and Sundays at the First Asia Institute of Technology and Humanities (FAITH) Indoor Sports Arena and Activity Center in Tanauan City, Batangas until August 28.

About United Calabarzon Collegiate League

UCCL was formed in 2006 by First Asia Institute of Technology and Humanities (FAITH) primarily as a pre-season tournament for Batangas-based schools. Formerly known as the North Batangas Open League, the league has since been renamed United Calabarzon Collegiate League (UCCL) to accommodate schools outside of Batangas.

In 2010, the league’s application to participate in the Philippine Collegiate Champions League (PCCL) was granted. Because of this change, the UCCL champion can now represent Southern Luzon and Bicol region in the Philippine Collegiate Champions League (PCCL).

The competition will be held for two months. Games are on July 16,17, 22, 23, 24, 30, and 31. They will continue until August 6,7,13, 14, 20, 21, 27, and 28.
Source : First Asia Institute of Technologies and Humanities | Photos by Golan F. Canuzo

About Lead Editor

Edison Manalo is the Lead Editor of WOWBatangas.

Check Also

Ang araw bago pumutok muli ang Bulkang Taal

Processed with VSCO with a4 preset Ilan lamang ito sa mga kuha ni Joshua mula …

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.